Have a Cuppa Tea

Not long ago, my friend Mindy invited me to a presentation on mindfulness and the benefits of meditation. The presentation was by Ronald D Siegel, PsyD. 
This morning I performed a variation of the Raisin Meditation which is found in his book, the mindfulness solution: Everyday Practices for Everyday Problems. 

I used my first cup of tea as I sat at our kitchen table instead of a raisin.
This wasn’t the first time I have done mindfulness activity so I didn’t really need the book’s instructions. 
Here is some of my insight which I share not so as influence anyone else’s experience but as a means to record and hold myself accountable for the lessons gained from the contemplation. The record will serve as a reminder. I also hope to encourage others to take time, to stop, sit a spell, and ‘have a cuppa tea.’
The order of the insight is not of particular importance.
Foremost: intention. With my parents at an early morning appointment, I noticed the opportunity to do the exercise with focus. Without the distraction of the possibility of interruption or the extraneous activity somewhere around me. 

It sounds selfish but it was good to have alone time. In fact, I worried momentarily that the dog would bark or the phone would ring. Neither happened but life can happen, right? Part of mindfulness is be aware and realistic so I’d be amiss not to note thoughts which come and go, or pull attention in a particular way such as a phone call or a dog bark. I am fortunate to have had the opportunity.  
Which leads me to the idea of gratitude . The tea I used was a gift from my sister. I believe the cup was a gift as well or at least a souvenir from some adventure. It is all white now. I chose the cup because it didn’t have any recognizable associations. I chose the tea because I did want to acknowledge thankfulness for the gift both of the tea and the time to focus on an activity that is so commonplace for me that I take it for granted. I also chose the tea because it was flavored. I anticipated- which in hindsight, no doubt influenced the process but also enhanced the intentionality of the sensual awareness, which is my next insight.

                                                    

                                                                  

 I found myself consciously aware of the act of drinking by trying to prolong the time to swallow. I noticed how I couldn’t help but swallow a little bit. My tongue and cheeks working in synchronization. I don’t think it necessary to put into words the exact awareness of life, of ability, of function that occurred. For a moment I was distinctly aware of other people with Cerebral Palsy whose condition affects muscle control of the mouth, jaw, and tongue. Again, I’ve had the awareness before. It is beneficial for me to reminded of my own humanity: my own limitations, my own abilities and how my own body is functioning: in short, that I am alive and well.

Alive and well. That sums up all of the other insight really. The awareness of my senses, my thought patterns and how my body and brain-my being- take place in the here and now, even when I’m tempted to dream or let my thoughts wonder to the past or to the future, I am still only present in the here and now. שלום עלינו

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment